Share |

Education Morgan’s political hot-button issue

Article Date: 
28 March, 2014 (All day)

Judging on the number of candidates filing for a position on local and state school boards, education seems to be a hot topic in Morgan County.  
Of the 30 Morgan County residents who filed for a government office last week, almost half of them were for a seat on either the Morgan County School Board or Utah State School Board District 1.
Of the 14 positions candidates filed for in Morgan County, the only races that will go to a June 24 primary election are for District 2 and 4 on the Morgan County School Board.
Incumbent Bruce A. Galbraith will join opponents Roland Haslam and Ted W. Taylor in the primary election for the four-year District 2 Morgan School Board.  Incumbent Mark A. Farmer will face opponents Anna Phelps and Alan Vesper in a primary election for the four-year District 4 Morgan School Board seat.
Seven locals crammed the list for a shot at a position on the Utah State School Board District 1.  Matthew Barr, Kera Birkeland, Angie Bledsoe, Lanelle Brough Butterfield, Jennie L. Earl, Lydia Nuttall and Pamela Smith are all candidates for the four-year position.  The seven Morgan residents go up against three other candidates:  Terryl Warner of Hyrum, David L. Clark of Providence, and Bryce B. Day of Perry.  Warner was recently appointed to the seat after Tami W. Pyfer stepped down.
Some 68 candidates from around the state filed for a shot at seven available seats.  The Utah State Board of Education includes 21 total members, 15 of which are voting members representing their districts.
The State Board of Education Nominating and Recruiting Committee appointed by the governor will vet the candidates.  In years past, the committee has required written information from the candidates and has interviewed each of them.  Per Utah code, the committee then forwards three to five names to governor for each district, usually by July.  The governor then chooses the two names from each district that will be included on the November ballot.